In praise of the NIT

I posted a couple of weeks ago that I became a fan of UVA basketball during Sampson’s first year, and that I thought it was pretty great that the Hoos won the NIT at the end of the season. That was 40 years ago today - March 19, 1980. Virginia beat Kevin McHale and Minnesota 58-55. Sampson was MVP with 15 points and 15 rebounds.

I was a student for the second NIT title in 1992. At that time, you could still seriously argue about whether you’d rather lose in the NCAA first round or win the NIT. Today I don’t think it’s a question, the NCAA is everything. Back then I was on the side of winning the NIT, and I enjoyed that postseason run. Doug Smith and the Hoos beat LaPhonso Ellis and Notre Dame in the final 81-76 in OT. To me the only downside was that it was Stith’s last season and he wasn’t around to build on the NIT (NCAA next 3 years with Elite 8 in 1995).

In a year when everyone is Not In Tournament, shouts to those two teams that were both a lot of fun to watch.

@DFresh11 - Anything stand out about the 1992 NIT run?

7 Likes

Anything that the Chokies have ever won is not a big deal. Alan Bristow led Tech team won NIT in 70’s

1 Like

Haha, good point. I think they won one in the 90s too.

Does the Hokies getting rings for a NIT second round loss count for anything??