Duke game thread (Sat 4pm)

Dunn didn’t even really touch Flip right? He got up on Beeks back but I didn’t see any contact with Flip by Dunn.

We keep this up and it’s going to give the Zapruder film a run for its money. Back, and to the right this time. Back and to the right.

6 Likes

I also would like to know if @DavetheWave thinks that it was a foul on Dunn, that is, first and foremost, did he actually make contact with FlipS arm. I’ve watched it a bunch of times from every available angle, and I don’t see the contact.

If the call was on Reece, I think this would be a no-brainer. We’d be complaining that it was a clean block, but it would have been a close call that went against us and there would be no statement from the ACC.

But the call was on Dunn, it was after Reece :bangbang: blocked the shot and after time expired. From the rule cited by the league, the FTs should have been awarded because the ball was “still in flight.” This strikes me as incorrect. The ball had been blocked against the backboard and was no longer headed for the basket. Would it have still been considered in flight if it had been swatted into the tenth row?

But DTW said that the foul on the arm occurred before Flip had come back down to the floor so he was considered still in the shooting motion. While I agree that he was still in the shooting motion, I’ve seen countless shooters hit by a help defender after an initial block without a foul call at all times during the game. What is the controlling rule here? Is the ball still “in flight” even after it has been blocked?

5 Likes

Even in slow mo the shit happened so fast. Proly cause Reece‼️and Dunn are so athletic and 30 for Duke is slow

5 Likes

Yeah, per my earlier post, I can’t see any contact. There shouldn’t have been a foul call. Which is what bothers me about the statement from the league. It all stems from the fact that Duke “demanded” clarification from the league. The point has been made elsewhere in this thread, but no way the league makes this kind of statement in a Miami-Clemson or Virginia-Pitt game.

4 Likes

I don’t think Dunn having contact well after the shot was blocked is a foul. It’s incidental.

4 Likes

The worst part of this controversy is that Reece’s unbelievable defensive play gets completely overlooked. One hell of a play on his part.

14 Likes

Last point on this from me.

While I do generally want to know what the actual rule book says on this, it’s always a loser’s game to blame the refs. We’ve been hosed plenty of times by late calls and now Duke has gotten hosed for a change. But if Flip had been awarded FTs and won the game for Duke, we would have still deserved to lose because we missed more than half our free throws and some key shots toward the end of regulation. Duke deserved to lose because their best player put up a goose egg.

Oh, and I enjoy the sweet taste of Dukie tears.

4 Likes

Remind me, how many point did the big flipowski score last night?

1 Like

Number 30 had zero

7 Likes

time house GIF

14 Likes

What this has taught is even we had multiples angles of the JFK assassination, everyone would still disagree with how it went down.

11 Likes

Purdue goes down …

4 Likes

I agree that Dunn barely contacted Filipowski on the arm, if at all.

Swiping down with his arm like that, however, is a habit that would ideally be broken because referees cue up their whistles when they see that sort of thing.

2 Likes

Should have never been a whistle on that play other than a missed a whistle on the throw in violation … no foul.

13 Likes

Agree

Watching at the game from great angle was simply a clean block. Ryan D just made it more interesting

3 Likes

Purdue was up 8 with 3:40 left and then Northwestern ended on a 17-3 run.

6 Likes

Northwestern was my “other” in the last @haney Elite 8 poll.

4 Likes

Speculation on duke boards that this is in response to yet another duke lottery big man being shut down by UVA. Some however think it might be out of respect for Kihei.

27 Likes

Now I’m confused after reading fully through the Case Book. There is actually no exact play like this one cited there… the only one that resembles it is when there is no courtside monitor - which doesn’t apply since there was one. The ACC actually cited that [play in their press release which shows a new level of incompetence to cite a case play that didn’t apply. Here is that one.

Periods — Beginning and End
A.R. 130. In a game without a courtside monitor available, and with the score
tied near the expiration of time in the second half:

  1. Shooter A1 is fouled in the act of shooting, but time expires before the
    release of the ball and the try is successful;
  2. Shooter A1 releases the ball, time expires, A1 is fouled while the ball is in
    flight and the try is unsuccessful; or
  3. Shooter A1 is fouled after time has expired and before the ball was in
    flight.
    RULING 1: When the official determines that the foul occurred before
    the sounding of the game-clock horn, and signals for the clock to stop
    and the timer fails to stop the clock, a timing mistake occurred and
    the official shall put time back on the clock to when the official has
    definitive knowledge as to the time on the clock when the foul was
    called. The goal shall count. In this case, A1 is awarded one free throw.
    However, when the official does not have definitive knowledge as to the
    time on the game clock when the foul was called and the timer does
    not stop the clock, this is not a timer’s mistake and time should not be
    placed back on the game clock. When the official determines that the
    foul occurred before the sounding of the game-clock horn, the basket
    shall not count and A1 is awarded two free throws. A1 shall shoot both
    free throws even if the first is successful. When both free throws are
    unsuccessful, the game continues with an extra period(s).
    On a foul that occurs near the expiration of time, officials must
    determine that the clock did not stop when the whistle sounded
    either because a timing mistake occurred or because it was so near the
    expiration of time that the timer is unable to stop the clock. In the first
    case, time is put back on the game clock and the game has not ended.
    In the second case, time is not placed back on the clock and the game
    has ended. When both free throws are unsuccessful, the game continues
    with an extra period(s).
    2: Since the try was released before the expiration of time and since the
    foul occurred after time expired but while the ball was in flight and
    A1 was an airborne shooter, A1 shall attempt two free throws even if
    the first is successful. When both free throws are unsuccessful, the
    game continues with an extra period(s).
    3: When the foul occurs after the second half (or any period) has
    clearly ended, the foul shall be ignored unless the foul was a flagrant
    2 or contact dead-ball technical. When the foul was a flagrant 2 or
    contact dead-ball technical, the offended team shall be awarded two
    free throws to begin the extra period and play shall be resumed at
    the point of interruption, which would be the jump ball to start the
    extra period. In such cases, the extra period shall begin with the ball
    awarded to the offended team using the procedures in Rule 7-3.2.
    (Rule 5-7.3.c, 5-7.6 and 6-6.2)
2 Likes